2015 Breslau Award

Drs. David Greenhalgh and Lynn Solem: 2015 Alan & Delwyn Breslau Award Recipient

Left to right: Dr. Lynn Solem, Amy Acton, Dr. David Greenhalgh
Drs. David Greenhalgh and Lynn Solem received this year’s Alan & Delwyn Breslau Award, the highest distinction the Phoenix Society can bestow. The two longtime members of the Phoenix Society leadership were honored for their “enthusiastic and visionary service to the Phoenix Society and the burn community,” according to Patrick Horan, Society President.

“These two burn doctors have been vital in building a bridge from the burn center to community for thousands through their compassion care and a spirit of partnership,” explained Phoenix Society executive director Amy Acton. “They believe survival is not enough and have become some of the most passionate advocates for the programs and services of the Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors as a true partner in burn care.”

Dr. Greenhalgh, who served on the Society’s board of directors during a period of great growth (2008–2014), was acknowledged for championing the work of the Society. Most notably, he was responsible for the development of a joint Phoenix Society–American Burn Association committee on aftercare reintegration, ensuring that the unique perspective of the burn survivor is a key consideration in burn care and raising the visibility of Phoenix Society programs in the medical community.

Dr. Solem was recognized for his leadership in incorporating burn survivor peers into the burn care team, even creating a paid position on his team at Regions Hospital Burn Center, where he was director. As a member of the Phoenix Society board from 2005 to 2014 and as its President from 2009 to 2010, he championed Phoenix Society programs not only at that burn center, but also in the broader burn care community.

Both men were also applauded for their clinical work in burn care, which has had an impact across the United States, as well as internationally, and their personal generosity to the Society.